First in State!

OMEA Small Ensemble & OSAA Solo State Contests

STATE CHAMPIONS: Karlee Wood, Gary Schmidt, Abigail Cohen, Elizabeth Hernandez and Taylor Schantzen

On April 27th & 28th 7 chamber ensembles and 9 soloists had the opportunity to perform at the OMEA State Ensemble Championships and the OSAA State Solo Contest. Each and every one of these 40 musicians performed with poise and maturity.

At the end of the ensemble day we learned that every ensemble Sam Barlow entered finished top 10 in state.

This was highlighted by a first place finish of our Brass Quintet! On the solo day, Barlow was able to place 3 soloists in the top 3 of their categories. Below are the names of the students that represented our school proudly!

Brass Quintet – 1st in State!

Karlee Wood

Gary Schmidt

Abigail Cohen

Elizabeth Hernandez

Taylor Schantzen

Clarinet Trio

Ambrose Stringham

Sydney Harms

Hanna Kienle

Saxophone quartet

David Collins

Jessica Toy

Zaki Kahl

Kiana Hytrek

French Horn Trio

Abigail Cohen

Rachel Stanley

Emma Harms

Trumpet Ensemble

Andrew Tercek

Max Campbell

Charlie Bailey

Caleb Brown

Kyle Allen

Low Brass Ensemble

Elizabeth Hernandez

Alexis Ubaldo

Emory Miller

Taylor Schantzen

Eddy Tello

Tony Wilkins

Percussion Ensemble

London Christiansen

Hunter Strobel

Tanner Marquardt

Megan Gibson

Jocelyn Richardson

Conner Aberle

Kathleen Kilgo

Sydney Harms

OSAA State soloists:
Karlee Wood, 2nd place trumpet
Jordan Gibor, 3rd place oboe
David Collins, 4th place tenor saxophone
Rachel Stanley, oboe
Isabella Crumpton, bassoon
David Collins, alto saxophone
Abigail Cohen, french horn
London Christiansen, mallet percussion
Hunter Strobel, snare drum